Saturday, December 20, 2014

Morning Wrap: Wisconsin-Whitewater Wins D-III Title Again


Six Division 3 Football titles eight years for Wisconsin-Whitewater. Yes, six.

Friday night the Warhawks beat long time rival Mount Union 43-34 to win that 6th title and sent coach Lance Leipold to his new job at Buffalo with the teams 32nd straight win.

The win was their 6th in the last 7 games with Mount Union, all games played in the Amos Alonzo Stagg bowl. All in the last 7 years.

Impressive, isn't it....

Warhawks QB and game MVP Matt Behrendt threw for 365 yards and 4 TD's. WR Jake Kumerow caught 8 passes for 130 yards and a TD while RB Dennis Moore ran for 74 yards and caught 2 passes for 108 yards and a score.

Leipold finished his 8th season at Whitewater after accepting the Buffalo job a couple of weeks ago. He finished his coaching career with the Warhawks with a 109-6 record.

Yes, he's won as many titles as he lost games in 8 years.

Pretty impressive stuff.

Here are the highlights from

No comments:

Post a Comment